Do you have a question or enquiry about the Catholic Faith and how this community tries to live our faith in Christ?

Each year, the parish runs a course from September until after Easter for:

The course is known as the RCIA Programme

(Rite of Christian Initiation of Adult)

Please contact Fr. Martin personally for further information

The Sacraments of the Catholic Church

Sacraments are, at one and the same time, signs and instruments of God's grace on our lives. The Latin word sacramentum means "a sign of the sacred." The seven Sacraments are ceremonies that point to what is sacred, significant and important for Christians. They are special occasions for experiencing God's saving presence.

The external acts to which the word "Sacrament" is applied are those which Christ Himself instituted for the sacred purpose of applying to our souls the grace of His redemption.

The Sacraments are seven: Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist, Penance / Reconciliation, Anointing of the Sick, Marriage & Holy Orders

Each Sacrament consists of a sensible outward sign: water, oil, bread, wine and some external act: pouring, anointing, laying on of hands, uttering words and all of them by these means symbolize the application of Christ's redemptive grace to our souls and actually confer this grace.

What are Sacraments





Penance / Reconciliation

Anointing of the Sick


Holy Orders

Click on a link below to find out more information

HomeDiocese VisionConfirmation 2019PrayerbookDiaryGalleriesAbout UsContacts

Brentwood Diocesan Trust

Registered Charity No. 234092

Rev. Martin O’Connor

The Presbytery

Bishops Avenue

Chadwell Heath



St Bede’s Catholic Church

Contact Us

Tel: 020 8590 8818